Mr. Gao Fu

Vice President, National Natural Science Fundation of China

Dr. Gao Fu, Ph.D., was born in Ying County, Shanxi Province in 1961. With B.Sc from Shanxi Agricultural University and M.Sc from Beijing Agricultural University, Dr. Gao obtained his Ph.D. degree from Oxford University, UK in 1995. He did his postdoctoral research at University of Calgary in Canada, Oxford University and Harvard University/Harvard Medical School. His previous positions include Deputy Director-General and Director-General at Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, President at University of CAS Savaid Medical School, Vice President at CAS Beijing Institute of Life Science, Director at CAS Key Laboratory of Pathogenic Microbiology and Immunology, Director-General at CAS Institute of Microbiology, Lecturer, lab director, doctoral advisor and Visiting Professor at Oxford University. Dr. Gao’s research interests are interspecies transmission and infection mechanism of pathogenic microbes and host cell immunology, public health policy and global health strategy. He has published more than 490 papers in SCI international journals as Nature, Science, Cell, Lancet and New England Journal of Medicine. He is the co-founder of Protein & Cell and the Editor-in-chief of Chinese Science Bulletin. He is the Chairman of Asian Consortium for the Conservation and Sustainable Use of Microbial Resources (ACM), Vice President of Chinese Medical Association, Chairman of Chinese Society of Biomedical Engineering, and sits on the executive committee of International Consortium on Anti-Virals (ICAV). Among the many awards and honors he has received are NSFC “Overseas Outstanding Young Scholars”, CAS “Hundred-talent Project” member, “Chief Scientist” of Program 973, Nikkei Asian Prize, and National Science & Technology Progress Awards (Grand, 1st and 2nd prize). He holds memberships from CAS, TWAS, American Society for Microbiology (ASM), European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) and African Academy of Sciences (AAS).